New Book

Well, “A Blush of Magic” is finished, the query and synopsis have been written and edited and I have submitted it to Sourcebooks for consideration. I’m glad that it’s done, but I actually feel more relief that I now have time to concentrate on my next project. I love the writing process-despite the fact that I sometimes hate it-I know that seems a bit backward. Anyway, once the manuscript is finished, the rest is just a necessary pain. The synopsis especially. It took me over a week to get four pages written, but it’s kind of the antithesis of the creative process. You’re trying to condense hundreds of pages down to just a few.

For now, though, I’m going to just try and forget about it until I need to do it again for my next book (of course, there’s always the hope that I get published and I won’t have to).

Anyway, onto my new book. I seem to be moving into a more paranormal/fantasy based theme, which I’m just fine with as I love fantasy; and isn’t the perfect love a bit like a fantasy? I’m never sure what story I’ll do next as I have notes scattered through notebooks on a dozen stories.

The story I decided to do is really one that was already written (by me not plagiarized). Almost a year ago I wrote this short story in the hopes of submitting it for a writing contest. I managed it, but I wasn’t happy with it so I didn’t submit. My sister read it and told me that it had the potential to be a good story, but it felt condensed, unfinished. I thought about it and realized that it didn’t want to be a short story; it wanted to be a novel. It will now get the chance.

The story is of an hereditary witch, Seraphina, who lives in the highlands of Scotland. She is not what one might think of a witch. She looks like a college student, plays an online game as a warrior when she gets frustrated, and has a thriving website selling amulets, candles, magic-infused objects, etc… She also likes loud music (as well as traditional Celtic music). She was raised by her gran and knew from a young age that a man would come into her life who would either be the love of many lifetimes or her death and destruction.

Jake’s father is Native American and his grandfather is a powerful medicine man. Jake started having strange dreams and was able to sense things at a young age, but his mother, a social anthropologist, feels he is being indoctrinated, led to believe in things that don’t exist, so she takes him away.  He grows up suppressing his powers and telling himself the world is rational and logical. He becomes a police officer and is at least somewhat content until his half-brother is brutally murdered on the reservation. The investigation is eventually called off at the insistence of his grandfather (who claims the attack was the work of an angry spirit in retribution for something his half-brother has done).

When Jake continues to investigate he finds himself waking up in this grandfather’s home, hearing that he has developed a thin spot in his magic shield. Of course, Jake doesn’t believe this and he’s still angry that his grandfather was so sure his half-brother’s death was the work of something paranormal. He quits the force and embarks on a quest to debunk the paranormal. This eventually leads him to Seraphina.

He will have to overcome his cynicism and accept the part of himself he has ignored for so long or risk loosing a woman he is quickly coming to love to a power-hungry spirit.

I’m currently researching and outlining, but looking forward to writing the book.

 

Rose Connelly

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. R. K. MacPherson
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 18:01:16

    Congratulations on finishing your book! It’s always nice to shift perspectives when the WIP changes. I hope Seraphina’s story grows in enchanting ways. Cheers!

    Reply

    • roseconnelly
      Jul 09, 2011 @ 20:22:09

      Thank you. I appreciate the support. Writing is very rewarding, but by it’s very nature it’s a lonely pursuit so feedback or encouragement is always nice. I wish you good luck in anything you’re doing as well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 285 other followers

Nope still here

